I’ve yet to develop a bass face. Doubting my skills…

I’ve been playing for 2 years now and, as the title says, I don’t have a bass face of any kind. Should I be worried? Will it affect my playing ability in the long run? Should I give up bass and go back to fiddle?

Can anyone give me any tips on developing a solid bass face?

7 Likes

Have you recorded yourself playing songs? If not start with that I bet you already have a few, :joy: if you see yourself and still no face then up the difficulty, bass face will shows up soon enough.

3 Likes

Some of the most famous bass players didn’t sport over-the-top bass faces. These are just a few examples.

Bill Wyman

John Entwhistle

James Jamerson

Carol Kaye

Paul McCartney

3 Likes

to fake a bass face: act like you are thinking to yourself ‘this bass smells bad but it sounds so good Im going to push through and keep playing it’ (stink face+determined face)

to find your natural bass face: listen to a fav bass tune that gets you going, LOUD, and right at the best part of the song look in the mirror

1 Like

I think I heard or read somewhere that James Jamerson was a big inspiration for Paul McCartney.

2 Likes
2 Likes

Module 17: Bass Face.

Come on @JoshFossgreen, you know it makes sense :rofl:

5 Likes

You don’t choose your Bass Face.
Your Bass Face chooses you. :sunglasses: :+1:

7 Likes

For me, a bass face is kinda synonym to poker face, because most bass players I have seen seem to be more like “I am unfazed by the music, and only here for the beer afterwards”. :smiley:

4 Likes

I think you all have been trolled pretty decently here :rofl:

3 Likes

Are you maybe an egg? You won’t develop a bass-face until you hatch! :joy: :rofl: Be the egg you want to be in this world, e.g. a @mr.crispy sunny side up egg…

4 Likes

I feel like there has been a fundamental misunderstanding in much of this thread

BASSFACE is a term of art

Bassface is NOT the natural expression you have when you play bass