I wanna new drug, no wait, Bass

Credit to Huey Lewis. OK, I’m a newbie here. Bought my first Bass back in the '60 's & I still have it, along with my 2 Pc Paul Amp., MK-II (Pine Electronics, Montreal). Bass is '61-62 Kent (by Teico Co. Japan) I think EB-2 model. I’m starting to play again & have always wanted the Fender P Bass, that mine is a copy of. I’m thinking seriously of a Fender P Bass Lyte Deluxe that I’ve seen, Serial # starts with a B. My question on that is…would I like it?? What about Active pickups, this is new to me.
The more I read here tho, I see, that that is not the only way to go??? Ibenez, Yamaha, Gretsch, etc., seem to be right up there in desireability with the Fenders. I will be playing mostly Blues, by the way. I need some guidance on whether to change my focus on Brand, or stay Fender??? Also, your thoughts on the P Bass Lyte. Thanks

4 Likes

A P Bass sounds like a P bass. That split coil pickup arrangement gives it that distinctive sound. A P bass also feels like a P bass. I like a jazz neck over the P, but that’s me. Some people love the feel of a P bass neck in their hand.

Active vs passive pickups are a personal tone choice. Some people swear by actives, some greatly prefer passives. Some basses labeled “active” have a powered preamp with passive pickups. What this means is the bass has a built-in equalizer right on the instrument that goes far beyond the high-end rolloff of a passive tone control.

One of my basses has active pickups and it’s very sensitive. It picks up the clank of the strings on the frets super easy, especially when played hard. I like it for certain things. Other basses of mine have passive pickups. Every pickup sounds different, but can also get into the same sort of ballpark, so to speak.

It can be a lot to process.