I'm ready to replace my bass of 10 years with one of these

I’ve decided to reward myself once I complete the course by buying a new bass. I’ve been playing the same Yamaha RBX170 for the past ~10 years, so it’s about time to treat myself.

I’ve narrowed down my selection to be these:

• Fender Player Jazz Bass
  • Yamaha BB734a
  • Sire Marcus Miller V7 Vintage

I’d like to hear your experiences and opinions about those basses, in terms of quality, versatility, playability, tone, price, and so on.

I initially wanted to get a J bass, but I do appreciate Yamaha’s PJ basses; all choices seem very versatile. All are around the same price range as well.
I’ve been able to test out a Fender Player Series, but the other two basses aren’t in stores locally unfortunately.
I also wonder if the Fender Player series is the right way to go, or if I should look for older, used fenders of a higher caliber.

If you have any other suggestions I’m open to hearing them!

5 Likes

You can’t go wrong with any one those choices.

I have quite a bit of experience with Sire basses, so the V7 would be my choice for its amazing quality, materials and value. But that’s just me.

There are several Yamaha fans here who would say the same for that option.

There are also a lot of Player owners here who would vote for the Fender.

It’s all good. Try out each of them to see which one feels and plays the best in your hands. That’s the one you need.

3 Likes

Those will all be good. I would personally go for the Yamaha for the P pickup, but YMMV. I owned a BB734A and it was stellar.

2 Likes

I had a Player Jazz for a while, it was super nice. I really enjoyed the maple fretboard. And it had a great sound to it. While I have no current Yamaha experience, I had a Yamaha for several years pre-Y2K, and it was a quality instrument. I’ve never owned a Sire but have heard great things about them and will probably try one out at some point.

I think you’ll be in a great spot with any of those.

2 Likes