Is it necessary to use your thumb on your plucking hand?

Hi, I am new to playing the bass and new to the forum. I am a new convert to the bass from the guitar. I changed in part due to an injury to my thumb on my plucking hand. Resting my thumb on a pickup or low string is fine - no problems there. However I have seen a lot of players use their thumb to pluck the E string etc. when playing. I can’t do this (moving my thumb up and down is difficult - weird injury I know)… Will I still be able to become a good player if I do not use my thumb? I guess I just don’t want to waste my time if I eventually will need to incorporate my thumb into my playing. Thanks for any advice.

11 Likes

Welcome to the forum @Jmbern1

The thumb is not necessary, but it comes in handy occasionally. Don’t fret it though, you can become a bass badass without using your thumb.

8 Likes

I do not think that this will be a hinderance. There is a technique video by BassBuzz covering various techniques and most use only the thumb for a rest on the string or the pick up. You should be able to advance fine.

8 Likes

As you probably know, the unanimous choice for greatest bassist in history, James Jamerson only played with ONE finger. And it wasn’t his thumb :+1:

8 Likes

Welcome aboard @Jmbern1,
Enjoy the ride,
I don’t use my thumb, it a personal choice any style works👍
Create your own and it will sound good😎
Cheers Brian

6 Likes

The only thing I use thumb on my right hand for is muting, and that’s the easiest job on that hand. The other fingers are jealous.

7 Likes

Thanks for the responses. Nice to hear that it is necessary. The injury has been a real bummer and it’s why I needed to stop the guitar. However the bass seems possible, and I love the sound!

7 Likes

I see a bad ass bass player in the works!

7 Likes

I was a convert from Guitar to Bass, but not because of an injury, directly.