Just learned…

The 12 Bar Blues chord progression (Stevie Ray Vaughan”s Pride and Joy) on M8 L5, and I’m absolutely ecstatic with this! Great job @JoshFossgreen incorporating all these concepts into this lesson! :+1:t3::+1:t3: I feel like I’m really on my way to understanding a lot of the theory and at the same time I’m so proud of where I am in my ability to play some music. I kept shouting to my wife - “Michelle, look at this! I’m playing a 12 bar Blues chord progression.” :rofl:

13 Likes

Very cool, man! I live in Austin and have for decades. I love the blues and I would see Stevie for free back in the day, then for a $1.00 cover a bunch. That was before anyone outside of Austin knew of him, of course.

I met him twice. Once when he was shooting a PSA at the video production company where I was a producer. I came back from lunch one day and coming up the hall towards me was the familiar poncho and hat, with the brim facing almost straight down. I approached him and he looked up warily: he was obviously strung out and on the way to the bathroom for some relief. I fanboyed him big time, saying, “Man, I love your shit.” And he looked at me incredulously and said, “You do?” Of course, I said hell yes!