Lefty, righty, ambi?

Hello all, I’m a lefty newby (3 months playing bass) here.

I’ve been playing right handed drums for over 30 years (in the beginning it was just so much easier to start righty than lefty and it stuck). I have always wondered, however if I would have been a better drummer playing lefty from the beginning. I now play both crossed and straight handed so its not too big a deal anymore, except my feet of course remain righty tighty. Due to back problems I cant play drums as much or as extreme as I would like, so finally after 40 years dreaming decided to come over to the dark side (bass…too many years of conflicts with the enemy (bass players)…lol).

I’m an American living in Brazil for over 15 years and left handed 4 string basses are almost impossible to come by, 4 strings alone are almost impossible to come by and actually cost more here if you find one. I bought my used Yamaha TRBX505 (yes 5 string right handed), about 2 months ago and have been progressing nicely, however of course wonder if I should have started lefty. I have seen all of Josh’s free videos on YouTube and could swear I saw someone (Josh?) writing something left handed on a whiteboard somewhere.

My question to anyone with more knowledge than me (everyone at the moment…lol) is should I put down the right handed Yamaha right away, and look really hard for a left handed bass?

TIA for any responses

8 Likes

I think it’s better to learn as right-handed. if I were you, I’d just keep the TRBX and continue learning the righty way.

7 Likes

Yep. It was @JoshFossgreen writing lefty. If I remember correctly, he said he started playing righty because it was easier to find instruments he liked that were right handed.

As to whether you should change, no body can make that call but you. It comes down to what your preference is. I figure this probably isn’t the answer you wanted to hear but personal preference ends up being the answer to lots of questions about music.

6 Likes