Line 6 HX Stomp

I have been looking at getting a Line 6 HX Stomp. I want to try a bunch of effects and play with sound in general and thought this might be the way to go. I figure it would be cheaper in the long run to get the Stomp rather than buying all the pedals individually. That said the Stomp is not cheap. Also I have no experience with effects pedals so I was also wondering if the learning curve on the Stomp might be quite big. I would rather spend the time practicing rather than tinkering with it. Does anyone have any experience with the Stomp? Any feedback would be welcome as I must say I am finding it difficult to decide which way to go. Thanks!

2 Likes

I bought the stomp for the exact same reason. It didn’t took me long to understand how it works… You can get started with the default bass presets that are factory loaded on the device and the quick start manual is really clear on how the basic controls work. It has the same learning curve as any other multi fx unit.

But the Helix has a LOT more depth and functionality to it when you start creating your own presets. You can park that for later when you have more experience.

I know @itsratso also has one so maybe he can share his experience too?

1 Like

Thanks Paul!

1 Like

there is a definite learning curve to it. but that’s to be expected with something that is as powerful as the stomp is. learn the basics first. one thing that may be a problem for you at first, depending on your preferences is like most (all?) of these multi effects, it can be programmed either by the pedal itself or by usb into your computer. i would download the manual for your preferred learning style (pedal or computer, they have a manual for both) and browse it a few times. i actually made a cliff notes cheat sheet of the important functions for the computer programming. but it’s also not something to be intimidated by, you’ll get the hang of it fairly quickly. and it really does sound very good.

2 Likes