Listen for the Drum Cues

AKA, Playing with a Real Drummer
This is probably blindingly obvious to most of you, but it wasn’t until I started playing with a real drummer than I started paying attention to drum cues.
I had always played to drum loops or a metronome, and my timekeeping is pretty darn good at this point. But I had never realized that those fills were signals to the rest of the band.
I hope that when @JoshFossgreen has a chance to do a “How to Play With a Drummer” intensive lesson, that this will be one of the bullet points.
It wasn’t until I started playing bass with my garage band that I figured out that the snare roll or big double hit on the crash cymbal meant, “hey, dumbass, we’re going to the 3rd verse now.”
It is a godsend when you can’t remember whether you’re on the 15th or 16th bar of the repetitive guitar solo to hear a big tom fill that signals the start of the outro.
If you haven’t before, start listening for those cues.

10 Likes

Josh actually does have a lesson like that in the course IIRC… I forget how deep it is, but there’s an entire module about jamming with the band I think? Been a couple years…

6 Likes

He does, but there’s been some talk of a more detailed lesson with a real drummer in the room and them going back and forth about how to play with a drummer and the drummer’s perspective on locking with the bass player. That is one I’m very much looking forward to.
And I genuinely hope when that happens that the drummer points out that those fills aren’t just flash, they are cues that alert the rest of the band that they’re coming up on the next section of the song.

8 Likes

Bingo!
I haven’t played with a drummer, but will attest. Whenever I’m learning a song, I crank up the drum track from the original song and follow the drummer just like you said. It really helps a lot listening for cues.
I also use the cues from the vocalist.

6 Likes