Marcus Miller and Sire

Many folks have been curious about Marcus Miller’s preferences with basses, how he got associated with Sire, and why. This video provides a few key insights.

10 Likes

Glad I got my kid 2 Sire basses :wink:

8 Likes

Lucky kid :laughing:

6 Likes

Good video and it has me intrigued. I’m have been playing before i started the b2b course but I still feel very much like an amateur. I’m very happy with the Cort c4 that I bought, but even though I’m also a novice when it comes to finding that right tone and feel of a bass, it find Sire interesting. Certainly high praise from M.M.

It might be time, after I finish the course to treat myself to a second, fairly inexpensive bass.

5 Likes

Parenting done right!

6 Likes

Really informative podcast featuring Kyle Kim, founder of Dame and Sire, and pro bassists.

Not only the origin story of Sire and the subsequent Marcus Miller partnership, but a lot more: Kyle’s philosophy and “sense of responsibility” to make and sell exceptionally well-built basses at disruptively low industry price points.

Also, a group discussion of the state of the bass market from uber-expensive quality to budget-friendly price tags, and how Sire bridges that gap. It’s fascinating to hear bass pros talk basses.

1 Like

Sure makes nice instruments. Love the necks, pickups a bit twangy but that’s Marcus and easily fixed. They punch above their weight and are great platforms

1 Like

I wish they’d start offering the Mod Shop, I’d be the first to order the PJ with P neck profile and the delicious electronics goodness.

2 Likes

I’d like a U5 with a 51 single coil

2 Likes

Oh yeah super retro. I love it.

2 Likes