Maybe I'm Just Stupid

I’ve been doing the B2B course for a few months now and decided to supplement that with in person lessons. There seems to be a problem.

My instructor’s method of teaching is to play the song we’re going to learn on his tablet (in this case “Heartbreak Hotel”, God give me strength), scribble down the tabs and then say, “OK, let’s play along.”

I don’t understand how it’s possible to get a new piece of music and then five minutes later be able to play along with the song. Should I be able to do this? I tried to explain how I need to learn the notes, then the tempo and then I’m ready to go and his response was, “Well can’t you hear how it’s supposed to be played?” I sort of felt like an idiot.

Most of his students are middle schoolers while I was a middle schooler like 50 years ago. Maybe they learn faster? I am a bit discouraged.

13 Likes

Find a different teacher. Sounds like the guy you are working with isn’t the one for you.

Also, why not work through B2B first? That worked for most forum members here.

19 Likes

Sounds to me that your teacher is a bit out of touch with reality. :laughing:

Kids do learn faster, but learning a song by ear in 5 minutes seems a bit ludicrous for a beginner?

You might want to look for a new teacher that has more experience with mature players? There are plenty of options if you are open for online sessions.

15 Likes

in my opinon, it’s a big NO. at least it’s not at all the way I can enjoy playing music. I have to appropriate a song, I’m not a robot. (I’m not speaking about being technically able to play this way, but more having to “soak” into a song before I play it).

I’m pretty sure almost all musicians would be ok with this, except maybe for the very special case of professional studio/sessions musicians but that’s very far from the case of someone who is learning how to play an instrument, obviously.