Modes: why you might need them and why you probably don't

5 Likes

I honestly don’t know what drives the internet fascination with them. Yes, they are neat and can give cool variations on the main scales, but the attention paid to them is far out of proportion to the actual usage in songs in most genres.

I blame Jazz :rofl:

6 Likes

It’s guitarists in general and also jazz :smiley:

Before I started playing guitar again and went on YT and music forums, I’d never even heard of modes… I miss those carefree times :wink:

The internet obsession with modes is pretty weird lol I think it’s the typical behaviour of adults learning things; that if they learn all the rules, it’s a shortcut to learning things and it’ll let them hack the system. Also, it lets the theory/jazz nerds feel super smart. There’s nothing people love to argue about more on the theory subreddit than modes! Every once in a while im silly enough to wade into the debate about what key modes should be in… I stir the pot a bit and run off :joy:

It’s like all the people who post some weird chord progression and want to know what it’s called and why it “works”.

6 Likes

I have a hidden suspicion they might be attractive to software engineers because octaves and intervals in music are an excellent illustration of modulus and binary math. Just think of the modes in relation to intervals as rotating a bit pattern in an integer and you’re golden :rofl:

3 Likes

Until you venture outside of the 12 tone equal temperament system of western music :slight_smile:

I love tuning systems where sharps and flats are not enharmonic… I imagine that C# and Db not being the same note just blows some people’s minds :smiley:

5 Likes

One thing that blew my mind was when I learned that while traditional music here does have common intervals, for some instruments they don’t have a fixed base tone/frequency like A=440. Everyone just shows up, they pick someone to tune to (probably the singer), and just roll with it.

3 Likes