Mutate with plucking hand

Hello everybody,
I started playing systematically bass the last 2.5 yrs. In this context I developed a way to mutate E and A strings by using my plucking pinky finger (right hand) to the E string from downside while my thumb rested on A so to pluck D and G with index and middle finger . I sticked with this way of playing to eliminate sympathetic vibration as everyone had to deal I guess.

The question is that if this is an acceptable way to mutate or I just inherit a bad habit that I should put an effort to change?

I tried to mutate with thumb only by resting on A and touch E when play D and G but found extremely difficult to play, with disaster results. The way I’m playing now I manage to achieve a clean and accurate tone but I really wondering if this is an outcome of wrong playing method.

Appreciate all answers in advanced!

1 Like

Welcome @dyereve, glad you are here.
Hop over to the Introduce Yourself! (2018-2022) thread and say hi to all.

On your muting question, I do this sometimes as well rather unconsiously.
Might not be the best technique, but if it works…

1 Like

Can you post a video of what your doing? It would be easier to talk about if we can see it.

This is fine. I mute all the time with my plucking hand pinky. Works great!

Josh talks about it in a recent video as well.

1 Like

I don’t know the technique that you were using with your plucking thumb to mute that was causing difficulty. Perhaps you could give a little more detail about that?

The best way to mute is to mute the lower strings by using your plucking thumb pointed downwards to lightly touch the strings. Avoid resting your thumb on the E string because your plucking thumb needs to be mobile travelling up and down depending on what strings you’re plucking. Mute the higher strings with your fretting hand with your 1st finger pointed upwards.