My day at work

Got my work cut out today. Those are fork lift lift chains. Most trucks have two, but some have just the one ( but it’s bigger and heavier). Greasy, dirty heavy work. I’m gonna look like Baldrick by the time I finish work today (for those of you who are young and/or living outside the UK so a search for Blackadder episodes)!

9 Likes

As long as you have a cunning plan, you should be alright :wink:

9 Likes

His plan is so cunning, you could pin a tail on it and call it a fox!

10 Likes

Keep on… trucking? I wish you patience and hope everything comes together nicely.

Myself, I could be more productive, I guess, and at the same time, I’m making small steps every day. Salami tactics, :grin:

5 Likes

Meh. I’m a forklift mechanic- it’s what I do. It was just unusual today to have six trucks on one site that all needed their chains doing. Got three of them done today plus a repair. Got another three plus a repair to do tomorrow too! :smiley:

3 Likes

This guy showed up at my work today. Completely ruined today’s agenda.

9 Likes

We have to do this every 4 years, they dress you up in a rubber suit and strap you in to a simulation of a helicopter cabin. So far so good. This helicopter is suspended above a swimming pool into which it is slowly lowered, just before your head enters the water you take a deep breath, wait for 7 seconds and then push out the window and release your seatbelt and pull yourself out.
Piece of cake I hear you cry. Not content with almost drowning you, the sadistic sods then strap you back in and go through the same procedure only this time they simulate a helicopter capsize. So you are held upside down in the water, in a seatbelt in a dodgy rubber suit and this is for our safety.
Needless to say that it is loved by all offshore workers.
To be fair, afterwards they make sure that you are dry and toasty by taking you out and making you put out fires.
All this is before you even set foot offshore

7 Likes