My first bass!

Hi all,

I’m a drummer who also plays a bit of keyboard. I want to learn bass as well since it seems like a cool instrument. However, I’ve got no clue which bass is good a which isn’t. I don’t want to spend too much money since I’m not sure whether I’ll keep myself motived to play; I will if I like the instrument. I found and add online of someone selling a Harley Benton PB-20 BK Standard Series along with an amp and a tuner for €150. Is this bass a good bass to start off with, or not?

Thanks in advance for anyone who’s willing to help me!

4 Likes

This is a Squier CV 70’s p bass.
It wasn’t my first bass, but it’s the bass I play every day. They are often offered at a discount too. It’s always my recommendation for a first bass.
But many will say, the best bass is the one you can play.

5 Likes

I don’t know enough about Harley Benton basses to say one way or another. The Yamaha TRBX 174 gets considerable attention as a good quality entry level bass. Some folks here have upgraded theirs with new pickups and hardware and use them as every day players.

2 Likes

I don’t have first hand experience, but I heard good things about Harley Benton as starter instruments.

A german site I go to for instrument test have tested the little more expensive Harley Benton SBX bass and say it is a decent instrument to start with. For reference, the test is in German language:
https://www.bonedo.de/artikel/harley-benton-pb-20-sbk-standard-series-test/

The only thing they don’t like is the weight, that is 4.5 kg.

2 Likes

Hi @Jonah1265, welcome to the forums! Nothing wrong with a Harley Benton as a beginner bass. Can’t comment on the price, as I don’t know what kind of amp and tuner they are throwing in. I got my own first bass, which was the exact same model as you mentioned, for €40 (pre-owned), but that was a steal.

2 Likes

Hi @Jonah1265 & welcome,

Go for it. $150 is fine for a starter pack like that. Try the bass and have a chat with the owner.