New Piccolo Bass

I built myself an ultra-short scale 6-string piccolo bass out of plywood and cheap parts…

But Korrigan, you say, that’s just a guitar with a really wide neck!

No sir, it’s tuned in 4ths (EADGCF). :slight_smile:

17 Likes

That looks awesome!

4 Likes

Amazing job! . . . :+1:

4 Likes

Oh man. It doesn’t look like cheap parts. That is nice.

3 Likes

Dude welcome back :slight_smile:

4 Likes

looks very cool ! I like the finish

4 Likes

Thanks guys!

@eric.kiser, all of the hardware is from ebay, other than the pickups which are from MGB and they are only $20 (but sound great). I bought one set of black and one set of gold. The fact that I mixed the colors to get two-tone hardware is what gives the illusion of it being something special. :slight_smile:

@howard, I haven’t been playing bass much, that’s true, I’ve been learning slide guitar for the last several months. But I didn’t go anywhere, I still look at the forums daily.

4 Likes

That is awesome. If you stepped up the wood for the body, you could be selling those for about $500-$600 on Amazon, and make a killing.
Heck I bet you could sell them with the plywood for that. I think you will have a back log that makes it impossible to keep up with current orders. And that’s a great thing.
Good work, great job. I wish I had the skills, and tools to to that. Would be cool to make one.

2 Likes

Looking at that hardware I don’t think he needs to step up anything to sell it if he likes :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Agreed, I was just suggesting a nice solid body out of a popular type of wood for bass bodies instead of plywood. But plywood is fine, there are retail guitars, mass produced that use plywood. I know somebody that ripped apart a Squire guitar and was suprised to find that it was plywood.
Yes, @howard, the two tone trick with the hardware was a great idea, making it look custom of a sort. That would sell extremely fast, however I doubt selling that one was the idea.
Others, maybe.