Newbie needs advice on fretting

I am brand new to bass. I am coming from a guitar/mandolin bluegrass world, and have questions about the fretting hand and how to use it. For mandolin and guitar I have always used the very tip of my finger to press down on the string. This helps keep me from inadvertently muting an adjacent string and I get a good clean note. But on the bass you sometimes WANT to mute that adjacent string. In watching the Bad Ass bass players I notice that they very often use the pads of their fingers to press down on the string, almost as if they are playing a barre chord. Is this just poor technique or is it intentionally done to mute adjacent strings, or am I missing something?

3 Likes

I use just past the tip of the finger, so side of the tip, not the middle of the “pad”. But that’s me.

5 Likes

I don’t use the tip of the fingers at all. I lay fingers across the higher strings and fret with the underside of the finger (to mute the high strings), and only lift if the next note is lower down the neck. So, yes it’s fundamentally different to fretting a guitar.

4 Likes

I use different parts of the finger. Longer notes whole or half even quarter notes I use the ball of the finger for a meaty tone. The faster and shorter the notes I move more towards the tip as well as adjusting my grip for better articulation and speed.

4 Likes

Guitar I find I need to fret almost perpendicular to the fretboard, straight in. Bass I can be much more loose with it.

5 Likes

Feel free to post a video of any fingering technique you’re curious about.
My fretting hand will do all sorts of different things depending on what I’m playing. The extremely precise, fingertip-only approach is - for me - used mainly in more precise, quick, solo/melody/esque phrases.

Most of my playing of standard bass lines will look much more flat.