Newbie questions about tabs/fretting and drop tuning

I am new to the bass (and really enjoying the Beginner to Badass course), and I have two questions I am curious about that I have not been able to find answers to. I appreciate any insight.

1. Many of the tabs I am finding use fretting that moves down and up the fretboard on the same string, rather than using the next string for what I believe would be easier fingering. For example: A song might include moving from the 2nd fret to the 7th and 9th frets and back to the 2nd fret all on the E string (without slides). It seems to me it would be easier to use the 2nd and 4th frets of the A string to reach the same notes–this would avoid having to quickly shift up and down the neck. My assumption is that because these are mostly rock songs, the preference is for the somewhat darker sound of the larger E string rather than the slightly lighter sound from the smaller A string. Is there another reason for this, or is there any issue with changing the fretting to use both the E and A strings to reach the same notes with what I find to be easier fingering?

2. I am curious about why some songs include drop tuning if they never use the open strings or lower notes. For example: A song might have me drop a half-step on all strings, but never goes lower than the second fret on any string (the song never includes the lower available notes). I do not currently see the purpose of drop tuning if the lower available notes are never used.

I am really enjoying the bass, and I want to understand why certain decisions are made so I can make the right decisions as I learn.

Thanks in advance for your reply!

2 Likes
  1. Most tabs are crap. They are a guide. Ply them as you like.

2. Might be for other instruments like guitarists.

2 Likes

For question one, I’ve come to learn that it comes down to the tone. Moving up one string can have a subtle difference in the way the note sounds. At the same time…