Noise in Bass

Hi,
I actually have two separate topics to discuss and want advice on -

1. My setup isn’t a classic bass setup with an amp. I’m using Yamaha TRBX 174 -> Audio Interface (via fresh fender TS wires) -> Studio monitors. I hear two types of noise coming out of my bass.
    1.1 It’s a Continuous noise similar to white noise that goes away as soon as I touch the strings
    1.2 It’s a trebly noise that increases and becomes apparent when I turn up treble more than 3/4 of its total range.
    It’s a little distracting while practicing but not too much to completely wreck it, I’m just afraid will it become a problem while performing live since the overall amplification will be alot higher if I connect it straight to PA.

2. I am a newbie so I’m not really good at technique. What used to Happen is when I used to release a note I used to do it quickly and it used to end up ringing since it became similar to a pull off. Jeff told me to quickly release from the note to avoid buzz but to keep my fingers in contact with a strings to avoid unwanted noise and that worked out pretty well. But when I listen very very closely. Even if I’m not pressing the string and just resting my hand on a fret (without pressing) and release it there’s a very less audible note that gets produced (kind of like the harmonics but on every note) . Now I’m a producer these small details kinda worry me because it makes the overall sound muddy. Is that normal? Is that something I should worry about?
    Any kind of help is very very much appreciated.
    Thank you for being patient and reading this. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I use a very similar setup. Noise can be hard to diagnose.

Is the noise the same if you plug in headphones to the audio interface and take the monitors out of the picture? Or do you mean studio monitor 'phones?

How is the audio interface powered? USB, battery, or adapter? If adapter, is the noise still there when it is unplugged and you’re using battery power?