Noob amp question

So those of you that have read my posts, know that I am a total noob. I have a noob question. The one cheap little 20 or 25 watt Stephens amp I repaired and have been using has what looks to be a digital display that looks like a tuner. It doesn’t seem to work though, or maybe it works really crappy? I am not sure if I am using it wrong, or it was a piece of junk when it worked, or its something I need to fix on the amp. (I am good at electronics repair)

It seems way all over the place and SUCKs trying to tune on it vs my little clip on tuner. Whats the deal with this thing? Do they just suck? Or is a properly working one worth using?

Heres a pic of it.

2 Likes

Also, an addon question. I just recently fixed a whole bunch of amps. They are all missing the backs, because someone has been in them before, at least to look. Does having the back on make for better sound? I felt like it might, so I made a back for the one pictured above, and I really didn’t notice a difference in sound. Is it worth making backs for the rest of them? I mean it obviously helps keep crap out of them (dog hair), but does it really matter much?

1 Like

Just checking, is this a bass amp or a guitar amp? If it is a guitar amp and not a chromatic tuner then you might have problems. If it is a chromatic tuner, which most are nowadays then it should work. Chromatic just means it isn’t locked into a specific frequency range. It is possible it is just a bad tuner or doesn’t work. A video would help more than a picture to give advice here.

As for back of amps, I’m sure it impacts the sound as the amp would have been designed with the back in mind, but as the sound is coming out of the front primarily I doubt it is noticeable to the average listener. However, I would keep the back on for protecting the amp.

3 Likes