Ohms, Watts, Amp, and 2 Cabs... Oh, my!

Afternoon, fellow bass fiends.
(I promise I’ll make my way to the ‘Introduce Yourself’ thread sooner than later! Haha)

I have a setup I need some advice on… And some simple clarification when it comes to compatible watts to ohms to cabs and bass heads. I appreciate any advice!
Here’s what I have…

Purchased a Hartke 2x10 cab (500 watts @ 8 Ohms)…
An Orange 1x12 cab (400 @ 8 Ohms)…
Finally an Orange Bass Terror 500 (500 watts @ 4 OR 8 Ohms).

Combining all the gear above, my thought was to switch the head to 4 vs 8 Ohms plug it all in (2x10 to 1x12) and flip on the power. Am I missing anything? Will I blow up my cabs?
I have plenty of experience with the 2x10 during gigs, and rehearsals. But with this upgrade/ cab expansion I just want to be sure I know, I know what I am doing. Haha.

Thanks again.

1 Like

Hello Evan,

From my experience using tube heads (mainly Mesa) you can either use 1 x 4ohm or 2 x 8ohm. Trying to drive 2 x 4ohm would possibly damage the head.

2 Likes

This is straight from the manual:

SPEAKER OUTPUTS

Make sure the correct speaker load is connected at all times during operation in one of the following configurations:
• 1 x 8 Ohm cabinet** – Use either speaker output (rear panel).
• 2 x 8 Ohm cabinets** – Use both speaker outputs (rear panel).
• 1 x 4 Ohm cabinet** – Use either speaker output (rear panel).

Speaker Impedance Switch:
Make sure this switch matches your speakers impedance.

So from what I am reading, with that head, only connect the 8 ohm cabs in parallel (never series) and make sure the switch matches your cab rating.

Additional be careful in overdriving the 400w cab with a 500w head and dont forget to turn the head on in standby and let it sit for 2 minutes from a cold start to prolong the life of the head.

Hope that helps.

2 Likes

Your plan is solid. :+1:

The Bass Terror 500 is 500 watts at 4 ohms and 250 watts at 8 ohms.