Old guy with a question

I started playing 5 years ago when I was 65. I’m still as enthusiastic and good-looking as I was then. Now I love to play some of the bass lines, that I have listened to, hummed and air-guitarred through the years. I have already exceeded my expectations of what I would be able to play. Learning to play Bass has been a Pandora’s Box of fun and stimulation. I don’t think I’ll ever comprehend all the technical things associated with the instrument, but sometime I have small musical epiphanies, that prompts me to say “so that’s what that means”.

The Paul Butterfield Band does a great tune called “East West”. I’m guessing the dominant bass groove is, F-F#-A# F# A# F#. Am I correct?

1 Like

@cajarmj61 Is their a video you’re referencing, or a particular recording of the song? That would help with all of us starting with the same source material.

Edit: I found this on YouTube.

2 Likes

Wow! Thanks a lot for the effort. My mistake was thinking that because I like the tune so much that a whole lot of people would have heard and appreciated it also. I thought that someone in the Bass Buzz universe would have heard East West and would know that bass groove right off the top of his or her head. Have you heard East West, Eric, and how many stars would you give it?

1 Like

I had never heard of it before your post. I think I’m going to stay away from trying to give it a star ranking since it isn’t in the vein of what I usually listen to. :grinning:

I tried playing through with those notes and it didn’t sound quite right. However, I haven’t cultivated the best ear yet.

If you click on the ‘cog’ at the bottom of the video, you can change the playback speed and slow the song down. I slowed it down to half speed but I was still having trouble working it out.

I think I better defer to the community at this point. Maybe we can get some people who want to work on ear training to help get it figured out.