Online bass learning for 6 yrs old kid

Hello there and a happy new year!!!
My daughter Mella, 6 yrs old, will be receiving her first 3/4 electric bass in few days.
Assuming she will not be too happy to have me as a teacher, I am wondering how to proceed with her learning method.

• The closest conservatory is not too far away and will offer 1xweek group courses with all the instruments. Could be an option but I am aware that repetition and frequency should be almost daily to progress and find pleasure.
  • BassBuzz (maybe too complex for her?)
  • Apps (yousician…)
  • 1to1 bass lessons with a teacher?

Any suggestion would be appreciated :slight_smile:
Cheers,
Sergio

1 Like

And therein lies the problem with people in Melia’s age group.

IMHO all it takes to learn bass is:

1. Wanting to learn to play the bass
  2. The willingness to put in the time and effort involved.

As a ukulele and guitar teacher, not only young children, but some older people are so used to instant gratification in this day and age that they are not willing to invest the time and effort involved. Unfortunately I see this all the time.

Music is a life long journey and I cringe every time I see an ad on YouTube to learn to play an instrument, usually within a month. Outside of child prodigies this is just not going to happen.

Here’s a thought. Why not take the B2B course with your daughter. I assume if you are going to be her music teacher you do play an instrument. You have a built in duo and a great bonding opportunity with your daughter. Just do not be discouraged if her interest changes.

I had a family of four, Mother, Father, Son and Daughter come to me a few years ago and they practiced together regularly. After about 8 months they were actually playing for others. Then the children’s interests changed but the parents still attend our jam sessions.