Playing full songs

So, I started playing about a year ago. I practice almost every day. I am pretty good at riffs and short pieces of songs. But, I am having trouble getting through entire songs from start to stop. Does this come with time? Is there something I should be doing?

6 Likes

It’s totally natural and a phase everyone goes through. Josh mentions it a few times later in the course, IIRC.

Best approach is… to play whole songs. Mix it in with your normal practice. Don’t worry about mistakes, just work on the endurance.

8 Likes

I’ll just pick a song and play it, slowing down the playback usually. Mistakes happen, sometimes I miss the groove in sections, but I get through it. And it gets better the more I try.

8 Likes

try to play a simple song at first. Practice it bits at a time until you can get through the whole thing. Then move on to something a bit more difficult. Repeat.

It takes time and practice to reach the level of endurance needed, but you can get there. We’ve all been through it, so don’t feel alone.

6 Likes

It depends, if the song is technical and have lots of fills and the goal is to finish the song in one go then I’d start with just root notes and simple fills then I’d add more but the goal is still playing through the entire song. This way things are easier as you go further and you are playing through still bite size. Some songs it’d take me months, but I know I’d get it.

The trick I know that works is to learn the fills plus 2 measures Don’t stop at the end of the fills keep going a bit pass it. That way you know you’ll get pass it and on to the next section every time.

4 Likes