Playing without looking

Hello,

I’m brand new to the bass. Any pro-tips?

4 Likes

Do you mean playing without looking at the fretboard? If so, don’t worry about it yet, or maybe ever. It’s unimportant, despite what internet comment threads may tell you :rofl:

11 Likes

This is so true! I’ve seen videos of Pino playing live and looking at his fretboard part of the time. If someone that amazing is sneaking peaks I’m not gonna feel bad about doing it.

6 Likes

The magic tip is Practice, Practice, Practice and seek out like minded people in jam sessions when you are ready. As long as you are enjoying the musical journey there’s not a lot else that matters. Oh yeh, one last thing, don’t overthink things.

So in short if you wanna play Bass - Get a Bass you like, get an amp and take the B2B course with @JoshFossgreen and practice. Ignore all the side trip rabbit holes that can cost you dearly. :+1: :+1: :+1:

6 Likes

It just comes to you eventually. As you progress, just try it occasionally. When I was younger and in a band (and thus expected to not just sit there like a lump) I could do it. Muscle memory will eventually be a thing for you :slight_smile:

…or don’t worry about it XD

3 Likes

Thanks all!

5 Likes

Welcome to the forum Derek. The thing I have found helped the most is to practice each hand independently.

Eg start by looking at your plucking hand and keep your fretting hand off the neck. Starting on the E, pluck maybe 4 times, then move to the A and pluck 4 times etc. Once you feel comfortable, try not to look at your plucking hand and repeat the exericise. Do this a little bit each day.