Plucking question

So I have been playing bass for about 6 months and just now realized that when I am plucking either the D or G string my middle finger hits the pickup after the pluck. This makes a soft tap sound every time my finger hits the pickup (which is directly under where i pluck those strings. I tried moving further down the neck to pluck but then i lose the the part of the pickup where i rest my thumb. Am I doing something wrong or is this normal? Am I just accidentally plucking at a downward diagonal rather than straight across?

4 Likes

I do exactly the same thing sometimes.

4 Likes

I know exactly what you mean.
I have a few Basses, and it is different on each one.
I on my Ibanez GSR200SM, I don’t have the problem so much.
On my Ibanez SR300, I feel the pickups, but do not have a noise issue with them.
On my ESP LTD, the pick up is far enough down that I do not feel the pick up even tho I have super low action.
On my Sterling SUB Stingray, I don’t have a neck pick up, and don’t have the problem at all. I anchor my rhomb to the E string, and it kind of floats when plucking the E. I have not found this to be a problem for me, or uncomfortable.

The Yamaha RBX170 had this problem, and I found it unplayable.

Have you thought about adding a thumb rest away from the pickups so you can get comfortable with a different anchor point?

I could have done that with my Yamaha, but with other Basses to choose from, I gave it to my youngest daughter when she showed interest in it. She will do B2B over the summer with it.

3 Likes

Now that you’re aware of it, you’ll be able to fix it.
My bass professor in college drummed that into me: Awareness Cures.

Where is your thumb when you’re playing? Is it always on the pickup in the same place, or does it move to anchor on the E and A strings when you pluck the D and G?