Plucking start with middle finger

Hi, I’m a beginner bassist ( I played the guitar for more than 10 years. ) and I have a question. The plucking start with my middle finger is faster (and more comfortable) than I start with my index finger. My question is that is a wrong technique or it’s okay?
Thank you for the answers and sorry for my english.

5 Likes

Absolutely!

That what I try to do most of the time. It would ensure the alternating. If it’s faster it’s even better.

3 Likes

+1 to what @Al1885 said!
As long as they alternate and you can change strings easily, you’re doing it right!

4 Likes

Yea, you’re totally playing correctly. The secret to playing well is playing comfortably. I use my middle finger a lot because I tend to keep it in the center of the riff or bass line I’m working with (typically floating between the A string or D string). It’s the longest finger and using it like that (for me) frees my index finger to go to the next note quicker and/or roll-off my ring finger and pinky finger for pull-offs.
Come to think of it, my index and thumb are usually on E string (and B string on my 5-er).
I worry a lot more about dexterity on my fretting hand rather than my other one–I could be totally wrong in my thinking though… so take that with a grain of salt… lol.
But I do my dexterity exercises on both hands randomly throughout the day, regardless.

3 Likes

I tend to default to starting with my middle BUT if I’m learning a song and realize that I can cross a string better if I start on my index I’ll swap for that song.

4 Likes

I play starting with middle regularly. I don’t think you’ll have any issues. These guys are all right-being able to play comfortably is really important.
And welcome @justarookie !

1 Like