Plugin help - snap, crackle and pop

I’m currently trying out some bass plugins and don’t know why Neural DSP Parallax and Darkglass sound like a bowl of Rice Krispies. The only thing I can see mentioned in the quick start guide is about lowering the input level on my audio interface but that didn’t help.

My signal chain is:

• Bass
  • iRig HD2
  • Reaper
  • Darkglass or Parallax
  • Kuassa Cerberus - Classic Jbass preset so fairly vanilla sound

I also downloaded the TSE BOD and that seems to work fine with no snap, crackle and pop. On the TSE BOD, I turned the drive to full and the blend all the way to the left (which I think means I just have the wet signal?).

I started with just the ‘default’ settings in Darkglass and Parallax and also tried some presets as I’m still new to effects and plugins so don’t really understand how to tweak them yet.

Google “gain staging”. Plugins generally work on input levels that mirror the electrical expectations of real gear. This means that they are expecting an input of around -18 to -12dBu in general for normal signals. Amp sims will start overdriving when you go much above that, etc.

When recording, you should also shoot for around -12dBu on the input meter. This is because that is generally the sweet spot for Signal/Noise ratio for a lot of electronic gear. This will sound relatively quiet to you; that’s fine, you can then normalize it later.

You generally want to mix with all the tracks at around -12dBu or so so that all the way through to the output you have plenty of headroom. You can bring that up a bit as needed, often with the master volume. The final mix should peak no higher than -1dBu.

Generally, throughout the effects chain, you should be shooting for -18 to -12 at each plugin input. Some plugins have their own input gain controls, but one easy method is to just use a gain plugin between them.

It’s more complex than this but these are the basics.

@Sully - anything basic to add that I missed?