Practicing rhythm / groove / counting

Hi, I’m looking for tips on practicing rhythm, especially syncopated rhythm.
Also, are you always counting while you play, only when practicing or do you not count at all?
I didn’t find a thread discussing this. If there already is one, let me know, then I can just look for advice there.

I’m asking these questions because a lot of music I would like to play has syncopated rhythms, but i can’t really play them well.
At my own temp I can play easier syncopated rhythms just fine i think, but when i have to adjust to the speed of a recording / other people etc. it gets rough. I also can’t know for sure if i play the rhythm exactly right if i play them at my own tempo.

I started practicing with a drum machine and right now counting and playing relatively simple syncopated rhythms is taking up almost all of my ‘mental capacity’. I’m wondering if this will get better or if I’m wasting my time with counting.

4 Likes

Syncopation is something you probably need to know the song or section well to play it. I like Cory Wong, most of his music are syncopated. I just listen til I know the song really well then I start transcribing them.

It’s more feel than technical. If you play the song technically perfect it would come out too clinical almost like being wash through a quantization software, not very pleasing to the ears. It needs lots of dynamics and slight miss to make it sounds awesome. So the best way to learn is to listen to them a lot, lol.

4 Likes

@JoshFossgreen teaches how to count simple and syncopated rhythms in the Beginner to Badass course. It’s the best way for newbies to learn. If you’re already enrolled in the course, just go through each lesson and you’ll find rhythm counting. If you’re not enrolled yet, definitely do it. It’s the perfect way for beginners to learn bass.

4 Likes