Pros and cons of a warwick thumb

Hello everyone,
this is my first time in this forum, and it’s very nice to meet you all.
My big question would be to anyone who owns a Warwick thumb, what do you love/hate about them? I noticed them because I am really into slipknot and their deceased bassist Paul gray used one. When I first saw them and heard their sound, I immediately fall in love with them.
I know that I want to buy one day, but I still want to hear the opinions of anyone who owns/ played one, on how they are and if you would recommend them?

4 Likes

Welcome, @Krms25. Glad you’re here.

I don’t have any experience with a Thumb, but a lot of other BassBuzzers do, so they will chime in.

3 Likes

Paging @TNKA36 and @HowlinDawg (IIRC)

3 Likes

Welcome @Krms25 !

2 Likes

Welcome @Krms25 ,
I do have a Warwick neck through Thumb Bass.
They are very well made Basses.
They can be used as either active or passive.
They are very punchy basses. good for Slipknot type of music,
The bass player from Nightwish also uses Warwick Basses.
The body shape is different in the fact that they are concaved on the back.
Probably more suited to a pick than finger playing IMO.
And they are very expensive
Hope this helps,
Cheers Brian

4 Likes

I’ve never owned one but I’ve read many comments on it being generally heavy and prone to neck dive. Something to consider.

4 Likes

I have a 4 string Bolt on thumb so my opinions are based on that.
Neck through and/or 5 string could be very different.

Build quality is astounding. Really flawless, and I’m a fussy bastid!
Fit, finish and materials are all top notch.

The MEC pickups and preamp work well both in passive and active mode, although I would prefer the three way EQ preamp over the two way that mine has.

The pickup positions are quite unique and are different between the 4 string and 5 string versions. The pro of this is that unique sound. The con of this is that unique sound. :wink: