Question about neck being heavy on my bass

Hi,
I am new to the bass and the bass I have seems to be very neck heavy. When I hold the bass on my lap, the neck of the bass falls towards the floor. Is this normal or should it be more balanced? Just wondering if I should look for a different bass to learn on. Thanks for any info. Jonathan

2 Likes

This is called neck dive.

It’s more pronounced in basses with fender style headstocks, as well as basses with lighter bodies. It can be mitigated by installing lightweight tuning machines and putting on a good, wide and grippy strap. It never completely goes away, though.

5 Likes

I wouldn’t say go buy a new bass immediately, but yeah neck dive definitely does not help, especially when you’re a beginner. You’ll probably be holding up the neck with your fretting hand to keep it in position. That can lead to all sorts of problems such as gripping the neck too tight, not being able to use a light touch for fretting, not being able to shift your fretting hand quickly, etc… Not ideal.

See if you can mitigate it somehow. On top of what @MC-Canadastan has already mentioned, I’d add that some people also recommend resting your plucking hand forearm on the top of the body, which is going to (hopefully) prevent neck dive. I never really liked this though, because it restricts the mobility of my plucking hand. Anyways, worth trying.

3 Likes

So far everyone is assuming you are using a strap. Are you?
It would also be helpful to know what Bass you have and possibly send us a picture.

This has been discussed many times on the forum.
Here is a link to one of the topics.

For others just do a search for ‘neck dive’.

1 Like

Yes @Jonathan it’s a neck diver. It’s a design flaw and there is not much you can do.
As @akos said, if the neck dives not heavily, lighter tuning machines may help a little bit. But we’re are talking less than an ounce, so buying new tuning machines will be a waste of funds in most cases.