Question about raking

Hi!
I have been silent for the past 3 months because life did me dirty with a hand injury and things I shoudn’t discuss here.
I’ve picked from where I left off without too many issues (hell, I’m even reading some sheet music for the first time). But when I watch lessons, I notice that Josh never rakes, and encourages always alternating fingers. I wasn’t an absolute beginner when I started this course, and I even took some private lessons in the past. To cut things short, everyone (including my former teacher) told me to rake, so I’ve developed a habit, and it is one that’s very difficult to correct, in case I would have to.
Is raking automatically wrong? Should I unlearn raking to make myself more aware about when to use it and when not to?

6 Likes

I forget if it is in the course or one of his other videos but I definitely remember Josh covering raking at some point. It’s a legit technique. However Josh does focus on alternating until you have that down solid.

5 Likes

Got it. So I shouldn’t be too concerned about it, correct?

5 Likes

Not in my opinion but I am also just another student :slight_smile:

4 Likes

It’s a technique I’m just starting to learn for certain songs. I agree with @howard in that we are only students on the same path as you are.
Perhaps a more learned member of the forum such as @Gio might shed some light on the matter.

4 Likes

Raking is absolutely legit, when used at the right times, for example crossing strings in an effortless way. I often rake without even thinking, although most of the time I’m alternate plucking.

5 Likes

Forgive my ignorance, but what is raking ?

5 Likes

Simply put, it’s when you pluck two adjacent strings with the same finger in sort of a “raking” motion. For example, D G ( 5th fret of the A string to 3rd fret of the E string), you would move your fretting fingers from the the D to the G , and just pluck the A and E string in a fluid motion with the same finger.