Questions for "non professional" gigging bassists

I was curious what other bassists have experienced as they play “abroad”.

I gig a lot but i’m not a paid pro. I’ve had people offer to pay me but I usually turn it down because if they are paying me, then they can tell me what/how to play. If I do it for the fun of it then I can just catch a groove.

QUESTION: How often have you actually had to read script music on a gig?

4 Likes

Oh yea, and feel free to ask your own questions

2 Likes

I can’t possibly be the only one here.

1 Like

I’m definitely non professional (to say the least) but I haven’t gigged in a couple decades :slight_smile:

1 Like

There have been a number of people who have played but very few that do so currently. I think the list is @Gorch @Gio @JoshFossgreen and @muff. But muff hasn’t posted in a long time. There might be some new people I’ve missed though.

I am looking froward to see what comes up on this thread, though.

2 Likes

@Gorch I’ve been watching posts and I think @TNKA36 and @mmrunyan1 are gigging bassists.

1 Like

I certainly wouldn’t call myself a gigging bassist, nor a professional.
I have played guitar for many years, mandolin for a couple and bass for only a few months.
I do not earn money for playing.
I play in my churches praise band 2 to 3 times a month. That’s it.

2 Likes

As for needing to read script music, it has happened a couple times when playing mandolin. I’m not very good at to say the least.

2 Likes

I believe @JoshFossgreen has done cruise ship gigging, which I know requires playing off of printed music sheets. I know this just from chatting with Mark Smith at TalkingBass . net, who also has spent a few years playing on cruise ships. If I’m not mistaken, this is how Josh and Mark know each other.

2 Likes

Hi @eric.kiser,
I am not a gigging bassist, I’ve only ever played live at a venue in Melbourne called the new capers in Hawthorn.