REALLY cheap beginner amp

Hi everyone, I’m a total bass noob, just bought my first bass (my first musical instrument whatsoever) and now it’s time for an amp. I know, that Josh recomended Fender Rumble 40 as a good starter amp, but for me it’s too expensive, it’s about half my monthly salary (I don’t live in the US) :frowning: I’m living in an aparament, with roommates, so I need something that can play well on low volume. I have my eye on Ibanez 10B V2, Peavey Max 126, Harley Benton HB-20B 40W or Tenson 35 W. Which one would you recomend? I don’t plan on playing with a band anytime soon or ever, just for practising and playing in my room for me.

6 Likes

It’s hard to find a cheap bass amp that’s worth buying. I don’t have any experience with the ones you listed but I’m sure others have some solid recommendations. You might want to check out the Vox Bass Headphone Amp to start. There is also the NUX headphone amp with some extra features (and rechargeable battery) that costs a little more.

Welcome to the forums and good luck on your bass journey!

9 Likes

Welcome @vermilionthenegative.

I must concur with @bjams. With you living in an apartment with roomies, you will get a lot of complaints if you get an amp that’s decent enough to emit good quality bass tones. The headphone solution is the best for you in your situation.

6 Likes

Welcome @vermilionthenegative

100% agree with my other two learned colleagues. Headphone amps are the way to go.
I bought an 80w Peavey amp when I started my bass journey and I can honestly say it’s never been home higher than between the 0 and 1 mark on the volume! And I have my own practice space lol

6 Likes

Headphone amps are a great option.

As another option, something like a Zoom B1 four pedal gives you a tuner, headphone out, and a bunch of “pedals” to play with, plus an aux in so that you can listen to B2B while you practice!

You don’t need an actual amp unless you want/need others to hear you…

6 Likes