Recurring finger "injury"

Hi Everyone. I don’t think anyone in this forum has mentioned my bass-related problem before. Only I’m not sure if I can explain it clearly enough.

Since I started playing the bass, I’ve been keeping my plucking hand fingernails really short. A few weeks ago, the remaining part of the fingernail on my index finger got separated from the flesh, which caused a minor but painful injury that took over a week to heal. The worst thing about it was it stopped me from playing for many days. I thought I’d just trimmed the fingernail too short and decided to use an emery board instead of clippers next time. It seemed to work until yesterday, when I caught a similar injury again when practising.

Has anyone experienced a similar problem? Do you have any advice? Will the skin between the fingernail and fingertip get stronger over time? Is there a way to speed up the healing?

5 Likes

If you could post a picture of your injury, it would be helpful, @Jarek . . . :slight_smile:

My best guess is that if you’re a brand-new first timer, your fingers just need to get acclimated to the extra stress brought on by playing. Your nails don’t have to be super short, either.

Like everything else related to playing bass, you just need to go slow and take your time with it. There’s no rush! :wink:

Cheers
Joe

5 Likes

It might be a good idea to have it checked by a doctor if it keeps occurring. You could use a pick for a while to give your fingernails time to heal.

4 Likes

If your nail is injured, try using a pick and keep on chugging while you figure it out

5 Likes

That is really weird considering you are plucking the strings with basically the fleshy part of your finger.

I guess you could try using a pick, as others suggested, OR just pluck the strings with your middle finger.

If it continues I would definitely seek medical advice from a doctor.

4 Likes