Return to Bass after years of stagnancy

So I was an avid musician when I was younger, going so far as to get my degree in instrumental music education. I was never an amazing musician, my strong point was music theory and I spent more time refining my saxophone craft than bass. After I graduated college in 2012 I couldn’t get a job as a music teacher so I ended up working on cars with my dad. I only played bass with a few groups. I still played a little with a group up until my friend the guitarist died in 2016. I lent my bass to my cousin afterwards, and it was stolen from him. Recently my wife purchased an Ibanez SRH505f for me to start playing on again, and it feels like I picked up right where I left off.

But that’s a problem. I was never a “great” player. I could usually come up with simple bass lines if I knew the keys, but never curated my own sound or advanced past fairly simple bass playing. I feel like I’m in a little different spot than a lot of musicians as I’m older now and have been out of the game for years. I would really like to improve, but I don’t even know where to start. I know scales, though I don’t know the proper fingerings or positioning for them. I was always really strong with music theory but very poor in technique comparatively. Most of the videos and bass exercises I find seem overly simple, but the moment I try and slow down a complex piece to learn it I’m at a complete loss. I feel so slow and inaccurate, like there’s something I’m missing there. I know the answer is usually to just slow things down and target tough spots for extended learning, and I can usually nail them at a slow enough speed. As soon as I try to speed up at all it completely falls apart. My hands outrun each other and have a hard time syncing up for clarity.