Rickenbacker growl mod?

So, I spent some time thinking about a next bass. Browsing web. YouTube. And I absolutely fell in love with Rickenbacker growl. It’s so distinctive of a sound. I have to have a bass with that sound. But Ricks are really expensive. But. Is there any potential electro mod available that could replicate that signature growl? Or am I about to embark on a journey of saving money for that bass?

I am not particularly blown away by the looks of Rickenbacker, so I wouldn’t mind if that sound came from gutted, modded Squier or Sire.

One can only hope.

5 Likes

I have no personal experience, but I’ve heard Ricks are extremely heavy (In addition to pricey).

5 Likes

Ric’s are single coil mounted on a neck through design so the bridge and pickup are mounted on one piece of wood.

Ric pickups are easy to get, but the bass itself could be a challenge

Could probably do it with plugins, @howard would know more, out of my league there

4 Likes

I love how the tone of that bass seems like … it’s all run through overdrive distortion and then compressed. It gives the growl across whole tone. So that’s why I think the electronic guts will play a huge role. But I was afraid if that build itself wouldn’t be a major factor. :frowning: Plugins sounds like really unsatisfying way how to get that sound. :smiley: :confused:

Ha, I found out that there’s Rickenbacker vst in Komplete. :open_mouth: Even sampled there’s that distinct sound.

3 Likes

I’ve learned from Sweetwater that the average is 9-10 lbs.

The price of Rickenbackers surprised me. They are expensive but a Strandberg or Ibanez Prestige model will make a bigger hole in one’s wallet.

Of course plugins are the most economical choice. :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

3 Likes

Hi Pam, @PamPurrs i Pam, @

The Ricky is not as heavy as my EBMM stingray, although they are probably more expensive if you can find one in Australia, very hard to get here,
Cheers Brian

4 Likes