Setup issue - heavy fret buzz past fret 12

Hi folks

I recently picked up a used MiA P Bass and I’m having issues setting it up. I’ve been doing my own setups for a few years now and wouldn’t consider myself entirely incompetent.

My issue is that I’m having heavy fret buzz past the 12th fret when the action is set to a reasonable level. To get no fret buzz, I have to set the action to upwards of 4mm on all strings over the 12th fret. If I lower the strings to 2.5mm action, the bass is basically unplayable past the 14th fret.

The truss rod is set correctly and there is no buzz anywhere else.

The action is a few mm lower at the 19th/20th fret than at the 12th fret. Looking at the bass I can kinda visually see the frets getting closer at fret 14 through to the end of the fretboard.

I took the neck off and there is no shim.

Not really sure what to do here, I guess I need the frets leveled? Or is there a greater issue with the neck? I don’t have this issue with any other bass I’ve owned and didn’t think to check this when I bought it.

Appreciate any help.

2 Likes

It’s hard to say without having the bass physically in front of me, but, generally, you should try setting your string action higher at the bridge after you’ve got the neck relief where you like it.

2 Likes

The neck relief is set properly and I need to set the action very high to avoid any buzz, close to 4mm at the 12th fret.

1 Like

Yes, but have you set your string saddle heights after you adjusted the neck relief? Just asking because that’s not clear.

A setup should, in order, include: setting the neck relief; setting saddle string heights; and, if necessary, adjusting string heights at the saddle. Setting string intonation follows the above process.

1 Like

Could be a “ski jump”: