Should I buy a Modelling Amp or start off with a standard amp

Hi everyone, I’m trying to decide on my first bass amp (have been using a VOX headphone bass amp during the first 5 modules)… I’m a total newbie trying to get to grips with bass for the first time and loving every minute of Josh’s course!

Taking advice from Josh’s buying guide the Rumble 40 (standard amp) sounded ideal. However, I can afford the Rumble 100 - so would that be a better option (perhaps more future proof)? However, then there is the modelling amp alternative - Rumble Studio 40 which would provide a whole range of tones… but do I need that as beginner? Would love to hear your thoughts especially if you own any of these amps.

6 Likes

Just my opinion here but I’d always avoid the modeling amps and go with a larger regular amp. The reason for this is generally you want to get your amp and cab models somewhere other than tied to an amp so that when you eventually upgrade amps, you don’t lose all your cool amp and cab sims and effects.

There’s lots of options out there to get modelling sims and built in to an amp is the last place I would want them. YMMV.

I look at them as nice features on the amps that have them, but for the same price I would always choose a bigger/better amp over a smaller amp with builtin sims, and buy the sims as part of something else - lots of options there ranging from multieffectors to dedicated amp/cabsim pedals.

9 Likes

Ditto what @howard said above, @peter22robinson . . . :arrow_up:

I have a Rumble 100 and it’s probably the most bang for the buck you can get in an amp. It’s compact, lightweight and is loud enough for practice as well as small gigs.

Cheers
Joe

7 Likes

I would ask myself first…do I even need an amp?

If you are playing at home with low volume levels or headphones most of the time I really don’t see a point in getting an amp. Getting some nice sims will give you everything you could possibly want in this case.

6 Likes