Slash chords

While I’ve played guitar & mandolin for decades, I am an utter newb when it comes to bass (like 8 weeks). I understand the function of a slash chord; these are usually a chord invertions to smooth out the bass line. I am slowly working my way out of playing roots and playing chord tones (arpeggios?). So if I’m playing a measure of C/E, I know the chord tones I want are C-E-G with E as the preferred bass note. Since I’m playing the whole chord, do I: 1) lead with a low E then play the chord tones, 2) ignore the /E note and just play a C arpeggio, 3) Play whatever the hell I want, cause no one listens to the Bass player, if I hits the groove?

Thank you in advance.

3 Likes

Yes, for C/E (“C over E”) you would play E as the root note and then C and G, or even E C E G if you like.

3 Likes

You shouldn’t play a C at all. You should be playing as if you were playing an E chord (E G B) or in the key of E until you choose to resolve or are no longer in a slash chord. The other instruments will be playing in the key of C, which is how it implies a C over E. You’re the only one playing in E, so typically you’ll either really accentuate the E by pedaling on it or simplifying your bassline
Edit: unless you’re playing by yourself then yeah you can just do an inverted C

on what instrument? On piano and guitar you totally play it with a C (often ECEG on piano, guitar is similar).

(E G C is the actual inversion but you can play it several ways and ECEG is one)

Great question.

Always start from the note indicated by the slash - it’s one of the rare times that pop music makes specific bass line choices, so we have to oblige the composer.

For the arpeggio, in practice and in theory, I always start with the note given by the slash (in this case, the E) then play the arpeggio in order from the note I’ve begun on.
Again, in this example, E(the third) then G(the fifth) then C(the root).