Some insight on a P-bass purchase

I have the opportunity to get a hold of a used players series P-Bass.
It is in nice condition about 6 years old and the previous owner installed a Seymour Duncan quarter pounder.
I live about 2 hours away from the store that has been very helpful with me living in a rural part of B.C.
so I will be going to take a look at it this Wednesday and I am not a Fender expert so I would like any insights as to what I should look for in buying a used Fender?

I know the physical aspect of what to look for but it seems some models are prone to issues I would like to be aware of.

Thank you.

6 Likes

I’m not an expert on Fender, but there is nothing wrong a player series bass. I would recommend not to limit yourself to a certain brand. Check out all basses they got and buy the one you like most.

5 Likes

For me, it’s about the neck. Making sure it’s straight, and that the truss rod works as it should. Do you like the way it feels in your hands? Then move on to the other things you would normally inspect before buying a new (to you) bass. I’m not sure when Fender went to pau ferro instead of rosewood on the fretboard. I personally don’t like it as much. Maple is nice too. There’s a good reason that precision has endured so many years, and remains so popular. Tough, reliable, workhorse. Best wishes!

4 Likes

I think around 2017 when CITES imposed restrictions on instruments featuring rosewood, But only on their lower tier models. If you paid enough you could get rosewood.
Anyway the only advice I’ve got is the neck. If it feels right in your hand you’re a long way there.
Good luck.

3 Likes

1000% above and most important.

The Seymour Duncan’s are a more modern tone pickup Vs a vintage P-bass sound. So make sure you like the tone and decide if you like as is or are willing to put regular or vintage style pickups in if not. Ask seller if they have original pickups etc.

4 Likes