Stedman Pro (Amazon) - First Bass

Hello! I am new to the site, and the bass guitar! I am 62 years young and have chosen to follow my dream to learn the bass guitar! Since I am a complete noob, and not sure if the bass and I could play together, I opted to purchase a cheap (very) starter bass setup on Amazon. I purchased a Stedman Pro 4-string bass with amp, tuner, strap, and gig bag. I must admit, all the gear was crap and has since been replaced since following the advice of Josh.

My question now is this, I am not thrilled with the Stedman Pro. It does not want to stay in tune, I get a lot of vibration from the strings on the fret board, and the first fret sounds horrid. I am okay with using it for practice while I am learning, but I already know I want a better instrument. Right now I am curious with the difference between precision and jazz bass, and pickups vs humbachers.

Can you give some advice on what may be a decent bass to learn and grow on? I am really enjoying learning and looking forward to becoming a bass badass!

Thank you, Josh, for making the learning fun and enjoyable!

Mark A. (BassBull), Peoria, AZ

7 Likes

Greetings, @BassBull, and welcome to the BassBuzz universe.

For questions like this, I advise checking the @eric.kiser index to Bass Buzz YouTube videos, (BassBuzz YouTube Video Guide) Josh has put together some excellent reviews of beginner basses. You will also get some valuable opinions here in the forum, although several of us have been infected with serious GAS–Gear Acquisition Syndrome–and will innocently attempt to steer you towards US$1000+ basses. For your own good. :grinning:

Seriously, there are some very informed folks here. But definitely check Josh’s reviews.

4 Likes

Hey @BassBull - I was just out your way last week in Goodyear!

First question - has your cheap bass been set up properly? Or tried to be? If not, start there.