Stiff hands in morning

Hi guys I’ve been playing bass for a couple of months now and practice about one and half hours a day I would like to do more but one thing that worries me is that most mornings I wake up with stiff aching hands it goes away after I start flexing them and there is no pain when playing but it’s always there again in morning. Are other people having this is it just natural? I do lots of stretching and stuff but I am wondering how far to push it ?

4 Likes

May I inquire to your age??

I know the feeling and I would think it is an age thing… also seems to wax and wane with the weather and the moon phases (just like the old folks always were yammering about when I was a kid and never understood what they were on about :grin:)

I can’t say for sure it is not connected to playing bass, but I kinda try to convince myself that playing bass is actually slowing down any further deterioration in that direction…

@T_dub has a regime of hand/arm stretches and warm-ups he goes through before playing, and they are detailed somewhere in this forum… I can’t find them right now, but a few minutes with the search tool in here should get you some results!

6 Likes

I’m 52 so I guess age is a factor I think that I just concerned about over doing it and getting injured because I’m enjoying it so much I would hate not to be able to play . I’ve played guitar and some trumpet before but have never felt so connected to an instrument

4 Likes

I’m 51 years old, so not the youngest either, but I don’t recognize this… I’d say that if I experienced pain from playing, I’d take that seriously. For what it’s worth, there’s a ton of information about this to be found online. Just Google for “guitar hand injury” or something similar and you’ll find it.

Just a thought: have you checked your action height? You may have to apply too much pressure when fretting if your action is set too high.

3 Likes