Still blisters?

Hi everyone
I’ve been practicing very regularly for about 5 months and it seems my fingers’ skin is still not adapted. I can hardly play 30mn-1h per day before it starts hurting and blisters forming. Slides are particularly problematic.
I don’t remember having this problem when playing guitar many years ago.
I’m 38, I know old men don’t recover as quickly but come on…
Could this be a problem of strings, setup or something?
My bass is an Ibanez Mikro with roundwounds that came with it.

3 Likes

Could be setup. Action too high might make for too much required pressure.

FWIW I only ever play rounds and have never had blisters.

Try different rounds? I’d be a little afraid of what flats would do for the tone on an ultrashorty like that. If you could even find flats for a 28" scale.

5 Likes

I agree with howard, sounds like you are applying too much pressure. It was quite a revelation to me when I did my first setup and realized that pressing the strings doesn’t have to feel like hard labour. I’d try that first and then experiment a bit with how much pressure you actually need.

4 Likes

I put flats on my Mikro when I had it. I think I used the ones that are made for Hofners?

1 Like

yeah I also think it could be a setup/action issue. maybe a lighter string gauge could be considered.

3 Likes

It could be a string issue. The one time I played steel round wounds, I found out why people call them cheese graters.

4 Likes

Yeah go with nickel rounds, steel is hardcore.

4 Likes

I use the Sandberg stainless steel rounds and they don’t feel that hardcore to me :thinking:

3 Likes

It varies by brand. I had Bass Centre stainless rounds that were great too. But some of the stock ones I have tried were awful. Warwick Red Stainless come to mind.

3 Likes