Struggling a bit with fretting

Hey, total noob at bass here, bought it as a Christmas present to myself and Ive been playing Rocksmith 2014, of all things, to try and get some extra practice. What’s been giving me the most trouble this far is fretting (and by extension, hammer-ons and pull-offs). I’m not sure if it’s my finger strength or positioning, but I’ve been having a really hard time just moving my hands in the right places to hammer and pull. Seems like I’m always one fret off.

Was this a common issue when you guys learned? Or am I just dumb?

6 Likes

If you haven’t subscribed to the Beginner to Badass course yet, you can find some basic information (about frettting as well) under the following link:

I wouldn’t bother too much about not mastering hammer-ons and pull-offs as a beginner. Those are advanced fretting techniques that need time and dedication to master. Just take it slow and easy :slightly_smiling_face:

4 Likes

Welcome, @jwharton41. First things first: Are you taking the B2B course?

If not, you should. It’s the smartest bass money you’ll ever spend.

If you are, then just follow Josh’s lead. There are basic fretting techniques that will get you where you want to go.

5 Likes

Yeah it’s more of building up your finger strength and wiring the synapses in your brain. Soon it would be so basic to you like using chopsticks :laughing:

6 Likes

Agree with everything said here above. Are you may be biting off to big a chunk to start with by messing with these special techniques? When I started playing from square one about 18 months ago, I got a bass and headphone amp, found some simple songs to play and started in. At first my fretting sucked but all I was aiming for was to get some of the notes right, more if I could. Remember, your training two hands from the start, not just one.