The Roll of the Bass

I see a lot of new Bassists that would appear to not really know what the main roll of the Bass is within a song.
It is not to shred all over the fret board and perform a myriad of solos and jump around on stage like an idiot, although you can find a lot of people that think this is the ultimate goal of playing Bass.

The proper place for the Bass is in the RHYTHM section of a band and keeps the beat and rhythm driving forward. The 6 string electric is in the LEAD section and performs the solos, arpeggios, acrobatics etc. If the lead guitar fumbles a couple of notes in a solo chances are most people will not notice BUT if the Bass fumbles the rhythm/timing the whole song falls apart.

I am new to Bass but not music and up until today I did not realize, and appreciate, how important the main roll of the Bass part was in a song until I came across this YouTube video that shows exactly how flat the sound can be without the Bass line. This is shown dramatically at 2:59 and 3:50 in the video.

This is my Ah-Ha moment for today and I thought others may appreciate it.

9 Likes

As my bass coach has drilled into my head many times, and I have implored on this forum time and time again: Your job as a bassist is to “Serve the Tune”. It’s not about being the star or showing off your skills, it’s about making everyone else in the band sound good. We don’t get as much credit as we deserve, but honestly, most bands would suck without their bassist.

6 Likes

While I generally agree, and I’m certainly not in the “bass shredder” camp, I hope we’re not defining a box for all bass players to fit in :thinking:

6 Likes

Honestly I think this is situational. There’s plenty of bass artists who are the star and drive the band. It all depends on the specific band situation and frankly saying there is just one role to play seems like a narrow view here to me.

The key is to know what situation you are in :slight_smile: