Throw me your opinions! (Bass amp head/ Cabinet)

Hello all… Quick introduction (with a proper one in the near future) my name is Evan and I’ve been playing bass for about 6 months. On the very edge on being a B2B alum and right in the middle of creating a new band with a friend I met waaay back in 3rd grade.

The reason I’m skipping the introduction is because it’s that time of year, and bass equipment deals abound. Due to lack of experience in this field (no shortage of research on my end though) I need some advice on a bass amp head and cabinet for gigging.

Here’s my wish list for the prospective gear…
-300-500 watt
-Compressor (more of a + than absolute)
-Ability to add some ‘dirt’ via head (heavy metal band, I do use pedals too)
-Light weight (both cab and head)
-Cabinet only needs to be a 2x10 or 2x12 (small bars to medium size venues planned)
-Amp needs ability to be used with house system.
-Cheap, but quality is best. Honestly, 500-800 total would be great.

Here are the three options I have floating around in my brain…
1 - Hartke Bundle… I like their amps and it all seems well made.
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/TX300Bun1--hartke-tx300-and-hydrive-hd210-bundle

2 - TC amp head and a cheaper cab, Peavy Headliner 2x10?
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/BQ500--tc-electronic-thrust-bq500-500-watt-compact-bass-head

3 - TC head, and a better cab brand? I do love Orange products, but that’s real money.

Throw me your knowledge, experience, and opinions!
Thank you.

2 Likes

Hey Evan, Hartke stuff is very good quality, I use this Ashdown combo rig that I love personally. I have one with a 15" speaker, but it looks like you want 2 10’s. Good luck on your search.

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/RM500C210v2--ashdown-rootmaster-rm500c210-evo-ii-500w-2x10-inch-bass-combo
-james

4 Likes