Thumb on the E string

Hi all.

Just wondering if someone could shed some light on this. As a beginner on the bass we are told to have our thumb on the fretting hand on the neck of the bass.

I was watching this video of Mike from Green Day and it seems he uses his thumb on the E string quite a lot.

I also noticed the bass player from Architects also uses this method.

As a beginner I don’t want to get into bad habits but I was just interested in why they do this?

Thanks

4 Likes

@Ludders
Hello. I’m a beginner as well and loving it so far.
I started Josh’s B2B course and am currently in Module 3. In the course (at least what I’ve seen of it so far) Josh talks about where to rest your right thumb. Basically, it depends on what you’re playing.
It kind of goes in this order:

• If you’ll be playing notes on the E string, rest your thumb on a pickup. The below options are up to you, but can help with silencing the non-played strings.
  • If you won’t be playing on the E but will be on the A, rest your thumb on the E
  • If you won’t be playing on the E or A, but will on the D, rest your thumb on the A string
  • Josh said his preference is not to rest his thumb on a the D, even if you’ll only be playing on the G
    Hope this helps,
    Dan
5 Likes

@Ludders
I just re-read your original post and realized you’re asking about the fretting hand… sorry about that.
Josh talks about keeping your left thumb loose, and along the back of the neck, not grabbing the top of the neck. That’s all I can say as I’m pretty new, hopefully someone will shed more light on your question.

4 Likes

It looks to me like he is using his thumb to mute there.

A few observations:

1. Dirnt appears to have massive hands. It could just be that his grip feels good to him wrapping around, doing the baseball bat.
  2. Dirnt is not a beginner and so can move beyond “proper” technique; this doesn’t mean that beginners should.
  3. It could just be how he learned :slight_smile:
5 Likes