Tips for Overcoming Stage Fright?

Hi Bassbuzz Community,

I just started playing bass in a band. Practice is going well, but I get really nervous during live shows at stage. My hands shake and I forget parts of songs. I hesitate alot. Even I know that I can play better. It’s really frustrating.

Do you have any tips to help with stage fright ? What works for you to stay calm during performances ?

I checked this article on internet https://www.schoolofrock.com/resources/music-industry/how-to-overcome-stage-fright-flutter but I want to know more suggestions on it.

I’d love to hear your advice.

Thanks,
Marcos

2 Likes

Overcoming stage fright comes with doing it more often and, frankly, not focusing on that you’re playing in front of people.

Instead, you’re missing the fact that everyone is there to have a good time, and not on you, specifically.

In other words, the crowd wants to groove and they’re happy a band is there to make it happen. They are on your side.

So relax. Concentrate on your drummer first, and on your other band members second. Do this and not only will you relax but so will the audience.

Again, everyone is on your side. Join them and have fun. That’s all that really matters to everyone within hearing distance.

8 Likes

Whatever you do don’t picture anyone naked, it’s the fastest way to go from bad to worse. :rofl:

In all seriousness, practice. you need to practice and rehearse tons of time if the band is new to the material. Things will go wrong and when they do your muscle memory takes over and you are on autopilot.

1 Like

Tom Morello gives good advice about 7 minutes in. Worth a listen

Moametal from Babymetal also gives advice. She says Practice, practice, practice. So that no matter how nervous you are, your muscles will start doing the work without your thinking about it.

1 Like

Tip #1: don’t get too wasted before the show. It may seem like a good idea at the time. It’s not.