Tone Difference When Plucking?

I am fairly new at playing the Bass, (although I have been playing lead guitar for over 50 years) So working on two finger plucking technique, I have noticed that when I pluck with my Index Finger I get a much deeper tone than when I use the Middle finger. It seems that I get a much brighter tone using the middle finger. I am using the proper plucking technique by pulling across the string as opposed to pulling in upward motion. Also, I keep my fingernails trimmed as far back as I can (Hate Long Fingernails!!) So, any ideas as to why the tonal changes between the two fingers???
Thx for any ideas or suggestions

3 Likes

Welcome, @4stringman52.

I believe the answer is in your first sentence: you’re new to fingerstyle bass playing.

It is common for bass beginners to notice a difference in attack/volume/tone of their plucking fingers. Many also find they prefer/have a tendency to play a line starting with either the index or middle finger. Mileage varies, but some consternation about sound differences is all too common at first.

The cure is simple: practice. It takes mindful work to develop an even tone and volume when plucking a bass. But the good news is it always comes with time.

7 Likes

I would keep doing as you are. The first step to this, and many things, is awareness. Over time I think this will work itself out.

Not a lot of help but practice practice practice

2 Likes

Ari Cap, a very good internet bass teacher, noticed this with her playing. She suggests angling your two fingers as if they are slightly pointing to the rear of the bas while plucking. She said the uneven tone can get tamed that way. I tried it and it is relatively easy to do, you just have to not allow your fingers to scooch back into the straight up and down position in relation to the fretboard.

3 Likes