What is headroom?

So my new stingray bass has 2 9V batteries in it, which people tell me is for more headroom, but as a newbie, I have no idea what that even means. I have noticed, compared to my other, cheap bass, that its definintely more crisp/clear. I have yet to experiment with all the different knobs etc too. My other question is there an instance where more headroom would be useful?

3 Likes

Head room is that space between how far you have to turn the volume up on your equipment to do what you need to do and maxed out.

5 Likes

Headroom is how much you have left over from where you plan to mostly play. If you walk through a room with taller ceilings, it doesn’t necessarily make your walk any better. If you start to jump, more headroom means you won’t hit your head. In this case jump means dig in, pick or slap. Arguably, it could allow cleaner and more articulated character to sharp transients.

However, if the next room you walk into doesn’t also have tall ceilings, the jumping is going to get stopped. In this case the next rooms may be pedals, DAI or amp and cabinet.

It could also be someone was able to design what they thought was a better active EQ and preamp circuit having an 18V swing available. Sometimes electronics work better if they aren’t working near their limits.

It’s one of the many fun choices you get to make with your ears!

7 Likes

So it’s like being able to crank up the volume and not have feedback like you would otherwise?

2 Likes

Thanks for the explanation :slight_smile: That makes sense.

3 Likes

Think of it like this. If your amps volume goes to 10 and you usually turn it up to 7 you have a headroom of three (so if you really dig in with a pick, or stomp on your distortion pedal, your amp can give you a little more volume without turning it up more). More headroom would mean you still play at 7 but your amp can now go to 12.

2 Likes

Ahhh ok that makes sense too :slight_smile: Thanks :smiley: